My 15th First Day

25 08 2011

On September 6th, it’ll be my 15th First day! 

The week leading up to this momentous day is filled with frequent visits to the school, DollarStore, and other favourite supply store.  My stomach is filled with nervous anticipation as I envision my new class taking on a life of its own.  I spend a small fortune on new books, stickers, notepads and funky pencils.  I spend hours deciding how to arrange the furniture and  I hide inspirational posters behind things – you know, in the little nooks and crannies that wondering eyes seem to discover.  The little things do matter.

A sleepless night filled with anticipation and excitement, over-thinking everything:  From what shoes to wear, to where to first greet my new students.

As the classroom fills, they all eagerly choose their desks.  They reconnect with past friends and quickly introduce themselves to new ones…. then a strange silence falls across the room.  All eyes on me.  They are all as anxious as I am.  What’s the most important thing to say first?  Is it a moment to be funny?  Inspiring?  Thoughtful?  Profound?  What do I want them to know?  Do? Try? Share?  Where is the bathroom? Who has an allergy? Are you going home on a bus? Do I read a book? Play a game? How do I learn all of their names?

Every first day has been filled with similar wonder, excitement, and a complete sense of awe.  I am amazed by the opportunity I have been given, year after year, overwhelmed at the responsibility and excited at the challenge.  Before I even realize it, it’s all over.  I’m left at the end of the day in a blurry haze.  The adrenaline has worn off, the kids are gone and I’m left with a goofy grin on my face.  The year has started! 

…and before too long, I’ll be preparing for my 16th First Day.

Actions

Information

One response

25 08 2011
Royan Lee

15th first day? Well, you don’t look a day older than your first. I hope you have an awesome year.

Leave a Reply

